2015 Vuelta a España Route Announced

Cycle//Vuelta a España


The route for the 2015 Vuelta a España has been announced and the race will start with a seven kilometre team time trial in Puerto Banus.

There will be nine mountain-top finishes in what will be the seventieth edition of the famous race, with all of them coming in the opening two weeks of the race. What's more, all nine of the mountain-top finishes are new to the race.

The first week will take place entirely within Andalusia and then travel all the way up to Andorra, covering almost the entire Mediterranean. The provinces of Malaga, Cadiz, Seville, Cordoba, Jaen, Granada, Murcia, Alicante, Valencia and Castellon will be prominent in the 2015 Vuelta.

After the first rest day in Andorra the race will feature one of the toughest stages in the history of the Vuelta, and then head towards the Cantabrian coastline, passing through Lleida, Zaragoza and Vitoria. This will mark the beginning of the mountain triptych in Cantabria and Asturias, with three tough finishes that could make a difference in the general classification.

The only individual time trial will be held in Burgos and will give way to the last week of the Vuelta. Before arriving in Madrid, the riders will face a stage in the Madrid Mountain Range. The finale will once again take place in the Spanish capital where the 2015 Vuelta winner will be crowned on the 13th of September.

2014 winner Alberto Contador has indicated that he will not defend his victory in 2015 after targeting the Giro d'Italia and Tour de France. However the mountains could see a battle between Nairo Quintana, Chris Froome, Vincenzo Nibali and Daniel Martin.

Vuelta a España 2015 Stages:

Saturday August 22nd: Stage one: Porto Banus - Marbella (7.4km team time trial)
Sunday August 23rd: stage two: Alhaurin de la Torre - Caminito del Rey 
Monday August 24th: stage three: Mijas - Malaga
Tuesday August 25th: stage four: Estepona - Vejer de la Frontera 
Wednesday August 26th: stage five: Rota - Alcalá de Guadáira
Thursday August 27th: stage six: Cordoba - Cazorla
Friday August 28th: stage seven: Jodar - Capilleira
Saturday August 29th: stage eight: Puebla de Don Fabrique - Murcia
Sunday August 30th: stage nine: Torrevieja - Cumbre del Sol
Monday August 31st: stage 10: Valencia - Castellon
Tuesday September 1st: Andorra (rest day)
Wednesday September 2nd: stage 11: Andorra - Els Cortals de Encamp
Thursday September 3rd: stage 12: Andorra - Lleida
Friday September 4th: stage 13: Catalayud - Tarazona
Saturday September 5th: stage 14: Vitoria - Fuente del Chivo 
Sunday September 6th: stage 15: Comillas - Jitu de Escarandi 
Monday September 7th: stage 16: Luarca - Ermita del Alba
Tuesday September 8th: Burgos (rest day)
Wednesday September 9th: stage 17: Burgos - Burgos: individual time trial (39km)
Thursday September 10th: stage 18: Roa de Duero - Riaza
Friday September 11th: stage 19: Medina del Campo - Avila
Saturday September 12th: stage 20: San Lorenzo de El Escorial - Cercedilla
Sunday September 13th: stage 21: Alcalá de Henares - Madrid.



comments powered by Disqus