Wiggins on Track for New Record



Sir Bradley Wiggins is leaving the road and aiming for another world record. The 2012 Tour de France winner and Olympic champion will head indoors to break the hour track distance record held by Rohan Dennis.

Austrian cyclist, Dennis, set the hour record earlier this year when he reached 52.491 km (32.5 miles) in 60 minutes in Grenchen, Switzerland.

Wiggins, 34, will head to the Olympic velodrome in London on June 7th to try to make track cycling history and bring the record back to Blighty. Former Olympic gold medalist, Chris Hoy, is confident that Belgium-born Bradley will succeed.

Speaking to the BBC, Hoy emphasised how Wiggins has accomplished all the goals he has set himself and underlined the Tour champion’s winning mentality:

“If Bradley really sets his mind to it you would not bet against him breaking the world record”, the 11-time World Champion said.

All-rounder Wiggins appeared at the Paris-Roubaix earlier this month in what was his last road race appearance. Following an early break, the former Team Sky cyclist was ultimately chased down by the pack but put in “an exceptional” performance overall, according to coach Sir Dave Brailsford.

“Some detractors may say him finishing 18th is a little underwhelming, but if you take a step back, the guy has won the Tour de France and the Olympics and did absolutely everything he could. He was there with 30km to go attacking on his own, and at that point I was thinking ‘He might ride away from everybody here’, Brailsford told TeamSky.com.

Looking to the future, Chris Hoy has said that he is “99 per cent” certain that Sir Brad will break the hour record. “It’s a big test, but I think Bradley is definitely capable of breaking the record”, the Scotsman stated. If he is successful in his bid, ‘Wiggo’ will stand besides Graeme Obree and Chris Boardman who both held the record in the 1990s.

Wiggins’ hour world record attempt in London marks a return to the track for the British cyclist as prepares for the men’s team pursuit with Great Britain for Rio 2016.

comments powered by Disqus