Contador Takes Lead As Quintana Crashes

Cycle//Vuelta a España


Tony Martin once again proved why he is the best time trial rider in the world by claiming victory on stage ten of the Vuelta a España as Nairo Quintana lost a large chunk of time following a nasty crash half way through the 37 kilometre course.

Martin, the world time trial champion, set the fastest pace of the day, with fellow 'race of truth' specialist Fabian Cancellara eleven seconds back. However, the big news of the day was in the general classification where Nairo Quintana lost the overall lead.

Given the small time gaps going into the stage, and those immediately behind the Colombian being stronger time trial riders, it was never going to be a surprise that he lost the red jersey. What was a surprise was that he went down in a heavy crash and lost a lot more time than he would have expected.

It was testament to his character that he managed to get back on the bike and limit losses, but it is hard to see him recovering to claim the title now. One man who has fully recovered, if today's performance is anything to go by, is Alberto Contador, who finished fourth with a fantastic ride. In contrast Chris Froome, also on the come back trail, was disappointing be his own standards.

When a battered and bruised Quintana eventually came home, red jersey ripped on his back, he had lost over three minutes to Contador. It now means he has to chase the race when it heads into the mountains, with his first chance coming tomorrow (Wednesday) when the stage finishes on a category one climb.

Other notable efforts today came from Rigoberto Uran and Cadel Evans who both claimed top ten finishes, with Quintana's teammate Alejandro Valverde up to second over all. Quintana is over three minutes off the lead now in eleventh place.

Stage Ten Results

1. Tony Martin 47mins 2secs
2. Fabian Cancellara +11
3. Rigoberto Uran +15
4. Alberto Contador +39
5. Samuel Sanchez +48

General Classification

1. Alberto Contador 36hrs 45mins 49secs
2. Alejandro Valverde +27
3. Rigoberto Uran +59
4. Winner Anacona +1:12
5. Chris Froome +1:18
6. Joaquim Rodriguez +1:37
7. Samuel Sanchez +1:41
8. Fabio Aru +2:27
9. Robert Gesink +2:38
10. Damiano Caruso +2:59

comments powered by Disqus