Hansen Holds Off Peloton To Secure Stage Victory

Cycle//Vuelta a España


Adam Hansen added a stage win at this year's Vuelta a España to that which he won at the Giro d'Italia earlier in the year as he claimed victory on stage nineteen of the Spanish Grand Tour.

Hansen, the 33-year-old Australian, led with 4 kilometres to go and held off the chasing peloton to win by four seconds from German John Degenkolb, with Italy's Filippo Pozzato third.

In the general classification battle Chris Froome finished the 180.5km stage with the same time as race-leader Alberto Contador to remain a minute and 19 seconds behind the Spaniard, with Spain's Alejandro Valverde thirteen seconds further back in third.

The stage was initially dominated by a three-man breakaway, but, although Wout Poels, Pim Ligthart and Laurent Mangel spent around 140km in the lead, they were never allowed an advantage of more than three minutes and 30 seconds.

They were reeled in with just over 20km remaining as Contador's Tinkoff-Saxo team upped the pace to guard against any attacks, following a day when Team Sky's Froome managed to gain 20 seconds.

"I wanted to go a bit later actually then I did. There were attacks at the bottom of the short climb at 5.5km from the finish and I followed directly," Hansen said. "It was very steep at the bottom. At the top I rode for 500 meters with everyone in the wheel, I was swaying over the road then to look at everyone and see how they were feeling. I could see that everyone was on their limit and I knew it was time to go. I got a gap then.

"I’m very satisfied. I already won a Giro stage and it’s nice to put a Vuelta stage in the collection. After the Giro stage I really wanted to win one in the Vuelta as well. This victory is very special, also because of how I won, I made the move in the final. It’s different than the Giro stage win, this is more spectacular."

Stage Nineteen Result

1. Adam Hansen 4hrs 21mins 58secs
2. John Degenkolb +5
3. Filippo Pozzato - Same time
4. Yannick Martinez 
5. Michael Matthews 
6. Geoffrey Soupe 
7. Paul Martens 
8. Jasper Stuyven 
9. Romain Hardy
10. Damiano Caruso 

General Classification

1. Alberto Contador 76hrs 40secs
2. Chris Froome +1:19
3. Alejandro Valverde +1:32
4. Joaquim Rodriguez +2:29
5. Fabio Aru +3:15
6. Daniel Martin +6:52
7. Samuel Sanchez +6:59
8. Warren Barguil +9:12
9. Daniel Navarro +9:44
10. Damiano Caruso +9:45

comments powered by Disqus